Modified Soup

Makes 4 servings maybe more

2 cups fresh homegrown sorrel or forage for the wild leaves removing stems (I used sorrel from my garden which comes back every spring)

2 medium russet potatoes, peeled and diced to 1″, the smaller the dice the quicker their done, using less energy saving $$ (I bought mine at ONF Ozark Natural Foods)

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil or the non virgin will do (I use virgin myself)

1 cup heavy cream, fresh from the cow is the best, but oh well (I used organic heavy cream in container)

6 cups of water or substitute with chicken broth and water or vegtable broth and water or leave the water out (I used organic chicken broth in container and water)

2 whole eggs shelled (I used farm fresh eggs from my chickens)

Wash and remove the stems from the sorrel leaves. Heat the olive oil in a large stockpot or what large pan you have, add the sorrel leaves and potatoes. Stir until the leaves are wilted.  Add the liquid and simmer until the potatoes are soft.

Puree the soup in a blender or whatever way you have available until smooth.  Add the cream, salt and pepper to taste and bring back to simmer.

Whisk the eggs and pour slowly stirring as would do with egg drop soup.

I found the original recipe at http://www.jacquesandcompany.com/sorrel_soup.htm

About billiescauldron

I am in transition. I see myself as a Spiritual Writer and as such my blog will slowly change with me still holding tight to being in the garden as a child loving my teacher.
This entry was posted in Foods, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Modified Soup

  1. susan wooldridge says:

    Sounds wonderful. I can get sorrel at the farmer’s market, or use dock I gather myself….thank you!

Leave a Reply

