Next Step

queen bee has been released

  queen bee has been released

Bees are excellent house keepers keeping everything clean, the only thing that remains on the floor of the hive is the wax comb that fell from the shipping package, all the dead bees in the photo from the other day have been dragged out.The living bees remain in their love huddle, I know now by looking at this next photo that they are working building comb even though I can not see inside the huddle. Few bees come out because of the weather here. I have placed sugar water for them inside as well as out (even though my hope is that one day they will have plenty of honey stored that sugar water will not have to be fed, I feel the sugar water is like soda pop), but few go sip from either. The 2nd day after being placed in the hive the weather was warm enough for them to really get out and forage. On that day I saw some on the dandelions. For city folk mostly, when you apply your dandelion killer you are also taking away food for the honeybees, and in some cases like with Sevin Dust it kills the bees. If you don’t kill the dandelions watch where your next foot steps. This could even apply to our daily life, where is foot stepping? To begin, is to begin again, everyday you rise up out of your bed, everyday is a new day.

busy little bees comb building

busy little bees built comb on Queens cage

 

 

About billiescauldron

I am in transition. I see myself as a Spiritual Writer and as such my blog will slowly change with me still holding tight to being in the garden as a child loving my teacher.
This entry was posted in Animals, Billies' Bee's, Family, farming, Foods, Health, Hope, Love, Top-bar hive and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Next Step

  1. susan wooldridge says:

    Ahhh yes, and the bees love clover. No pesticides please, dear world! A LOVE HUDDLE. Sounds like the title of your book of poems, Billie. Wonderful. The bees can be your central metaphor and your stories of love and industry and community can spin out from there! Well, hmmm, that’s what you’re doing naturally on your blog. Love, Susan

    • Thank you much Susan, for your great enthusiasm, now if someone would just put it all together for me, I might be able to do what I love best, not work outside my home, maybe one day I’ll be able stay in the garden, going home is always good, more are going, I hear them everyday as they speak from the love in their heart.

Leave a Reply

