Blooming Twigs

In February I pruned some of my peach trees. One of my peach trees that came from seed several years ago is a slow grower so I assume it is a dwarf. Liking the idea of dwarf peach trees that I can stand without ladder and pick peaches I thought I would try something that wasn’t really talked about in the Propagation Bible I read.

While making willow tea, this last autumn, I took some of the twigs and put them in a glass jar and set them on the window sill. Some time went by and they began to put forth leaves now I have willow seedlings with a full set of roots planted in pots waiting for a new home in the earth’s soil. I gave one to Bruce and Susan, one of my egg buyers, who loves the weeping willow. I hope it serves them well, becoming a huge weeping willow tree for their home.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
As for the peach twigs with buds, I placed some in a glass jar, adding an aspirin because I didn’t have any willow tea made, and as you can see in the picture below I now have blooming twigs without any root. The question now, is will the peach twigs form a strong root to begin a new life in the earth’s soil as a dwarf? Time will tell. As for the blooms being pollinated, the bees aren’t in the house, but so far they have made it through this strange winter weather and on warm days have been bringing in pollen to their hive from heaven knows where, probably the trees they love so well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

About billiescauldron

I am in transition. I see myself as a Spiritual Writer and as such my blog will slowly change with me still holding tight to being in the garden as a child loving my teacher.
This entry was posted in Billies' Bee's, farming, Foods, Garden, God Farming, Honeybees, Love, Mother Earth, nature, Top-bar hive and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

