Daffodil Seeds

IMG_20150515_120752122
I believe experience is my best teacher after the harvest of the daffodil seeds.
I went to read how to grow daffodils from seed when I also read how to harvest the seeds. Neither of the 2 articles of harvesting was my experience. So here I share my experience of harvesting the very first daffodil seeds I have ever seen and I did nothing to help in the pollination to produce them.
Let me start in how they got where they are. I built a small box area around my mail box post last fall. There I planted daffodil and tulip bulbs that I had dug up earlier in the year. This spring the daffodils were beautiful in bloom the tulips did not bloom but they did grow. The other day in this May as I went to check the mail I notice the seed pod was open like a flower and contained seeds. I was quite surprised since this was my first time ever seeing that the daffodil produced seed. So I gathered the seeds and one empty pod.
Some seeds require rest before planting and even need a cold spell. Not knowing for sure what the daffodil needed is what took me to the articles. Again experience will be my best teacher as the articles said it takes years for the seed to bulb and then bloom. I’ll let you know and maybe even share my blooms in the coming years.
Stick around and gather the nuts from the trees that you plant, for most they plant for the next generation to come. I believe their is something more for the gardeners who grow and glow, but there again only experience can prove it so.

About billiescauldron

I am in transition. I see myself as a Spiritual Writer and as such my blog will slowly change with me still holding tight to being in the garden as a child loving my teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

