Windows

Last night I watched a movie with Uriah that he borrowed from the library. In the movie at one point an ailing uncle was sitting writing. His  nephew came in and said to the uncle that he was looking well. The uncle said “I am and I don’t want to lose this open window” as he pointed to his head.

I love the windows they call double hung.

Why, you might ask?

My reason is you can raise the lower half of these windows up and lower the upper half. In doing so the hot air trapped in the ceiling area has a way out, expelling the heat from the house, while the unseen cooler air comes in through the lower half of the window. A natural occurrence that is also used to suuply hot water in what is called thermosiphon.

Yesterday was one of my single days off in a long stretch from work. Usually on those days I want to stay home and get chores done, but instead I spent most of my day in town running here and there, a chore I would rather not have to do. As the day slipped away I noticed I was not responding the way I usually do when I would rather be home. I noticed no matter what obstacles got in the way my temperament flowed like the heat out of an open window staying cool throughout the day even though the temperature outside was rising and I don’t use the a/c in my pickup.

I do not know how to harness what I experienced yesterday, but whatever window was open I hope it doesn’t close.

As for the natural occurrence of thermosiphon, it extends its arm out in many aspects of our life as we flow through not letting jagged rocks tear out our loving heart.

About billiescauldron

I am in transition. I see myself as a Spiritual Writer and as such my blog will slowly change with me still holding tight to being in the garden as a child loving my teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Windows

  1. Wonderful metaphor, Billie. I also love double hung windows! Blessings to you, Susan

Leave a Reply

